59 years after he first recorded for Elektra records back in 1953, helping to launch the old-time folk music revival, Tom Paley has recorded a wonderful new album. It brings together some of the best young folk and country talents in the UK, including Tom’s son Ben on fiddle.

“Roll On, Roll On”

Tom Paley’s Old-Time Moonshine Revue




HBR0001 track listing 
Play button 1. Roll On, Roll On
Play button 2. Little Birdie
Play button 3. The Mourning Blues
4. Sally in the Garden
5. Shove that Pig’s Foot a Little Farther in the Fire / Prettiest Gal in the County
6. Beelzebubbles
7. Johnson City Blues
8. The Fiddling Soldier
9. A Horse Named Bill
10. The Morning of 1845
11. Whiskey Seller
12. Little Rabbit
13. Who’s that Knocking at my Window?
14. Green Grow the Lilacs
15. Poor Bill
16. Devilish Mary
17. Keep on Trucking, Mama
18. The Midnight Special

Recorded 2011 and 2012 at Big Fish Recording Studio, St Albans, UK.

Tom Paley – vocal, guitar, banjo, fiddle, autoharp
Ben Paley – fiddle
Jonny Bridgwood – double bass, rhythm guitar
Robin Gillan – vocal, harmonica, guitar
Jason Steel – vocal, guitar
Dave Morgan – percussion

Sleeve notes by Robin Denselow.


Daily Telegraph (****) Paley shows he can still strut his stuff
Daily Mirror (****) This beautifully curated collection combines intimacy & authenticity as it honours profound heritage in simple, compelling style
BBC Music An hour in the company of Tom Paley and his Revue is an hour well spent
The Times (****) Paley’s time is coming at last
The Guardian One of the grand old men of folk music
The Sunday Times (****) They don’t come more authentic than Paley
Uncut magazine (9 out of 10) Special stuff, no wonder he’s idolized by the likes of Dylan and Cooder
fRoots magazine Throughout, the instrumental interplay is a delight, as is Tom’s vocal performance
London Evening Standard This is old-time music at its best
Bob Harris, BBC Radio 2 It’s really a beautiful, beautiful record
Max Reinhardt, Late Junction, BBC Radio 3 Tom Paley remains a classic musician to this day
Huey Morgan, BBC 6Music This dude is really old-school Americana
Cerys Matthews, BBC 6Music Every track’s a corker
Mike Harding, BBC Radio 2 A cracking new album…I hope I’m making music like that when I’m 84