Legendary American folk blues artist Spider John Koerner, accompanied by fiddle and bones player Chip Taylor Smith, makes his UK recording debut on Hornbeam. The album was recorded old-style in London in the summer of 2012, mono through valve microphones mixed live to tape using vintage Ampex equipment.

“What’s Left Of Spider John”

Spider John Koerner

with Chip Taylor Smith



 HBR0002 track listing
Play button 1. The Dodger
Play button 2. The Leather-Winged Bat
Play button 3. Phoebe
  4. Running, Jumping, Standing Still
  5. Ezekiel
  6. Days Of ’49
  7. What’s The Matter With The Mill?
  8. Stewball
  9. God’s Penny
  10. Everybody’s Goin’ For The Money
  11. Creepy John
  12. Good Time Charlie
  13. Rattlesnake
  14. Delia’s Gone
  15. Acres Of Clams
  16. Last Lonesome Blues
  17. Nightbird Eyes

Recorded 20 & 23 July 2012 at Studio 65, London, UK.

Spider John Koerner – vocal, 12 string guitar & harmonica
Chip Taylor Smith – vocal, fiddle, bones & piano
Jonny Bridgwood – double bass overdub (tracks 4, 7 & 11)

Sleeve notes by Ian Anderson and Dave Peabody.


Stephen Hunt, fRoots magazine It’s thrilling to hear something that sounds so entirely spontaneous and uncontrived. I’ll be very surprised if anything keeps this from being among the first entries on my Critic’s Poll list this year.
Robin Denselow, The Guardian (****) This new recording shows that he hasn’t lost his “unbelievably funky guitar style”.
Midwest Record Send a pint over to those fine English blokes….Great stuff, late period or not. Check it out.
Tim Stenhouse, UK Vibe (4/5) Rounding off a deeply melodic album and consistently agreeable listening experience is some outstanding packaging which may just be a contender for album cover of the the year….Spider John is in excellent form throughout.
Garth Cartwright, Songlines (***) Impressive in every way.
Vic Smith, English Dance & Song What a breath of fresh air this album is….The second release from this label, like their first with Tom Paley, is a triumph.